November 2018 Book Haul

I honestly didn’t think I bought this many books in November! From here on out, I am officially on a book buying ban. I will not place any more Book Outlet orders or books from Amazon with the exception of my preorders. We’ll see how this goes, but I’m going to try really hard! But you don’t want to know about that, you want to see the books I got!

First things first, some of these I bought in October but they didn’t actually come in until November, so keep that in mind!

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

Annnnd right off the bat I’m showing off the books that I’ve been buying in series I haven’t read yet. This is the third book in the Girl of Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson, and while I don’t know too much about the book, I’m fairly certain that I will enjoy it, plus the covers are gorgeous!

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley

This is the second book in The Rook files, with book 1 being The Rook, which I hauled last month. All I really know about this one is it’s about a secret organization that battles supernatural creatures, and the main character discovers that she has some supernatural abilities. Also, reviews have said that it’s pretty sarcastic and funny, which I always love in a book!

 

Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce

Yet another book 2 of a series I haven’t read, but this is one that I know I’ll love because I absolutely adore Tamora Pierce! This follows a girl called Beka Cooper and is set before the events of Pierce’s Alana series and Immortals quartet.

 

Promise of Wolves by Dorothy Hearst

All I know about this one is it follows a wolf and I think it’s from the perspective of the wolf, but I’m not 100% sure. I love anything that is from the viewpoint of an animal, which brings me to the next book!

Watership Down by Richard Adams

I’ve read so many books that are retellings of Watership Down but with other animals, but I have yet to read the source material. So when I saw it for cheap on Book Outlet, I decided it was time to pick it up and finally read it!

 

Dragon Champion by E.E. Knight

“Dragon” is one of my buzz words, so when I found out that this not only has dragons in it, but is from the perspective of a young dragon I knew I needed to grab it and see what it was all about! What I really like about this one so far is that our main character isn’t the standard looking dragon, he’s actually a rare gray scaleless dragon! I’m halfway through and it’s been enjoyable so far!

Peter Pan Minalima Edition

In my quest to read more classics, I knew that Peter Pan was one of the ones I wanted to read. Of course, when I saw the beautiful Minalima edition on Book Outlet I decided to get that one because I already have the same edition of Beauty and the Beast!

 

The Little Mermaid Minalima Edition

And then I ended up also getting the same edition of The Little Mermaid when I saw that one was also available! These editions are so beautiful and I love all the little pop outs and extra content that they have!

The Queen of Sorrow by Sarah Beth Durst

I own books 1 and 2 of this series and thoroughly enjoyed the first book, so I when book 3 showed up on Book Outlet, I knew it was time to complete the trilogy. This is about a forest kingdom whose queens are chosen by the spirits that inhabit the world and create mischief wherever they go.

 

Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay

I own a few books by this author that I haven’t read yet, and the reason I grabbed this one is because I’ve heard that this one is his best book but everywhere I’ve found it it’s been pretty expensive. Then Book Outlet came along and they had if for only $4! Talk about a sign!

Dark Immolation by Christopher Husberg

I’m fairly certain that I hauled the first book recently, or maybe it’ll be later on in this post (at this point, I have no idea what I’ve gotten without checking all the receipts). This is the second book in the Chaos Queen series and it’s one that Holly from HollyHeartsBooks likes and since we have similar reading tastes I knew that I would also enjoy it!

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

If you don’t know, Book Outlet now has a classics book set that you can get, but they also offer the books individually! They are really beautiful editions and I’ve been trying to expand my classics collection. I went with this one for one main reason: Oliver and Company (the Disney movie with the cute cat) is based off Oliver Twist and is one of my favorite Disney movies so I decided I needed to read the original!

Athena’s Champion by David Hair and Cath Mayo

I mentioned this one in a most anticipated list, and I just kept feeling so drawn to it that I gave in (surprise) and ordered it! I’ve been slowly working my way through it and it’s fun to see the authors take on the Greek gods and goddesses and Odysseus!

The Winter Road by Adrian Selby

This was a book that I had preordered for a while! When you pull it up on Goodreads the synopsis starts off with this: “A gritty and epic adventure to appeal to fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski and Joe Abercrombie – The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.” I don’t know about you, but that pretty much sold me on this one.

 

The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck

One of my college friends introduced me to Colleen Houck’s Tiger Saga, and since I fell in love with that series I decided that I also wanted to get my hands on her next book, which ended up being this one! This is a standalone fantasy that follows two different perspectives: Jack, who made a deal with the devil and now is a Lantern, which is a supernatural watchman to the otherworld. Then we have Ember, who is a witch who feels pulled towards the otherworld. She ends up crossing over and then Jack has to go and get her and bring her back before their worlds fall apart.

Age of Assassins by RJ Barker

Another one of my buzzwords is Assassin. This is yet another book that Holly from HollyHeartsBooks likes and what she likes, I usually do too. This one is a little different because these assassins are really good at taking lives, but how will they handle the challenge of saving a life? We’ll just have to read it to find out!

Duskfall by Christopher Husberg

Annnnd I was wrong earlier. I haven’t hauled this book (until now), but this is the first book in the Chaos Queen series that I mentioned earlier. All I really know is that it is a multiple perspective fantasy, and one of the characters is pulled from a river riddled with arrows and close to death. The synopsis is fairly vague, but sometimes that’s the best way to read a book!

Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

The paperback was finally released and now I have the first three books in this series all in the matching floppy paperbacks! Once I got this in the mail I started reading The Way of Kings, and it’s honestly kind of hard to give a description of what happens in this series because it’s going to be so long and things seem to evolve over the course of the books. But do I really need to know what it’s about? It’s Sanderson, which means it’s going to be a fantastic, unique, and thrilling fantasy!

Ruin by John Gwynne

This is the third book in The Faithful and the Fallen series, which Piera over on Booktube binged in about a week, and these are some hefty books! Like Holly, anything Piera likes I usually do too, so when she vlogged her reading experience and cried because it was so amazing, I knew that I needed to get all the books in the series so I can binge it too! Now I only have the final book to find!

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

This is a little outside my usual genre, as this is more paranormal/urban fantasy/romance, but for some reason I’ve been really drawn to romances lately, so much so that I’ve been considering participating in Smutathon! This is the second book in the Fever series, and Riley Marie (Smutathon cohost) recommended it, so here it is!

Wrong to Need You by Alisha Rai

Along the same lines as Bloodfever is this straight up smutty romance. I know, I know. Who am I?? But I’m not gonna lie: sometimes I enjoy a good, smutty romance! Girl meets boy, both are extremely attractive and lots of sexual tension ensues, and probably they get married or something in the end. Romances can be really predictable, but that’s what I really need right now!

Hopefully I’ll be able to stick to my book buying ban, or at least a toned down version of a book haul!

Have you read any of these books? Are there any that you think I should try to get to first? Let’s chat in the comments!

Until next time…

1541001482853

2 Comments on “November 2018 Book Haul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: