REVIEW: Come Tumbling Down

Not to brag, but I’m absolutely killing it with my reading this month because I’ve already read 6 books, and I’ll probably finish at least two more before the month is over! Today I’m bringing you my review for Come Tumbling Down, which is the latest installment in the Wayward Children series.

Come Tumbling DownCome Tumbling Down
by Seanan McGuire
Series: Wayward Children #5
Release date: January 7th 2020

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire’s award-winning, bestselling Wayward Children series, Come Tumbling Down picks up the threads left dangling by Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones

When Jack left Eleanor West’s School for Wayward Children she was carrying the body of her deliciously deranged sister–whom she had recently murdered in a fit of righteous justice–back to their home on the Moors.

But death in their adopted world isn’t always as permanent as it is here, and when Jack is herself carried back into the school, it becomes clear that something has happened to her. Something terrible. Something of which only the maddest of scientists could conceive. Something only her friends are equipped to help her overcome.

Eleanor West’s “No Quests” rule is about to be broken.



I’m so relieved that we finally got to go back and see more of the characters from the first few stories, as I much prefer that story line to the one with Lundy as the main character. I didn’t really like In An Absent Dream, because I felt like there wasn’t enough substance to the story, but with Come Tumbling Down, we got back to a more action based, plot driven type of story.

Like the last four books in this series, I listened to this book on audio and I still 100% believe that that is the way to go when reading this series! This audiobook – along with Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones – are narrated by the author herself, and I think that really adds to the story because an author always knows exactly how they want to present a story to their audience.

Out of all the worlds we’ve visited so far, I think The Moors is definitely my favorite (followed by Confection, which was the world from Beneath the Sugar Sky). You really get the creepy, dreary vibe of this world, but never to the point where you feel scared or uncomfortable. I clearly have a thing for the dangerous, grim worlds and the over the top worlds, which would explain why I didn’t like Lundy’s world all that much.

I’ve said in pretty much every review for this series that I have no clue how Seanan makes you fall in love with these characters and their worlds in such a short amount of words, which I think truly shows you how great of a writer she really is. Not only is the writing amazing, but the representation that we get in this series is truly fantastic. In this book alone we get OCD rep, a F/F romance and much more. Never once does this feel like gratuitous rep just placed there to fulfill a quota, it truly means something to both the author and the people who get a chance to read her works.

Basically, if you haven’t read this series yet trust me when I say that you need to at least give it a shot, because this is such a great series! Now I just need a book for Kade, and one for Christopher, and hopefully another book with Jack and Sumi as characters again!



3 Comments on “REVIEW: Come Tumbling Down

  1. Pingback: Lost in the Moment and Found Review – Melting Pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: